Ethnic Israel’s Claim to the Land of Canaan Challenged and Answered

A recent commenter named Jon states,

“The land promises are tied to covenant faithfulness.”

>>>Not absolutely and Ezek. 36 explicitly denies it.

Ezek. 36:21 But I had [i]concern for My holy name, which the house of Israel had profaned among the nations where they went. 22 “Therefore say to the house of Israel, ‘Thus says the Lord God, “It is not for your sake, O house of Israel, that I am about to act, but for My holy name, which you have profaned among the nations where you went. 23 I will vindicate the holiness of My great name which has been profaned among the nations, which you have profaned in their midst. Then the nations will know that I am the Lord,” declares the Lord God, “when I prove Myself holy among you in their sight. 24 For I will take you from the nations, gather you from all the lands and bring you into your own land.

Notice he says ““It is not for your sake, O house of Israel, that I am about to act…I will take you from the nations, gather you from all the lands and bring you into your own land”

Ezekiel’s prophecy explicitly states that their regathering is NOT “tied to covenant faithfulness” but to preserve the name of Yahovah! You are faced 180 degrees the wrong direction. Your position isn’t just a little off. If the truth is due south, you’re facing due north 180 degrees the wrong way. Not only does the Bible not teach what you are saying, it explicitly addresses your position and explicitly rejects it.

“2) Genesis 15 does not make unconditional promises to the Jews, it makes them to the seed of Abraham. You are obviously assuming that Abraham’s seed has been narrowed down to the descendants of Jacob (with which I agree), but you did not inform us of this assumption, nor why you believe the bible ends the “narrowing process” down at Jacob’s seed. I have in mind Gen 49 and the clear prerogatives given to Judah, and the consequences of the coming of Messiah.”

So why does Ezekiel call the land of Canaan, “your own land” in vs. 24? I understand that Israel functions as a type of the elect and that all who have faith in Messiah are Abraham’s seed, spiritually, Gal. 3:29. However, your replacement theology must be rejected:

Rom. 9:3  For I could wish that I myself were accursed, separated from Christ for the sake of my brethren, my kinsmen according to the flesh, 4 who are Israelites, to whom belongs the adoption as sons, and the glory and the covenants and the giving of the Law and the temple service and the promises, 5 whose are the fathers, and from whom is the Christ according to the flesh, who is over all, God blessed forever. Amen.

Rom. 11:1 I say then, God has not rejected His people, has He? May it never be! For I too am an Israelite, a descendant of Abraham, of the tribe of Benjamin. 2 God has not rejected His people whom He foreknew. Or do you not know what the Scripture says in the passage about Elijah, how he pleads with God against Israel? 3 “Lord, they have killed Your prophets, they have torn down Your altars, and I alone am left, and they are seeking my life.” 4 But what is the divine response to him? “I have kept for Myself seven thousand men who have not bowed the knee to Baal.” 5 In the same way then, there has also come to be at the present time a remnant according to God’s gracious choice.

There are still promises held out to these people as a distinct ethnic group. There is no denying it. And the great writers of the past understood it:

https://southernisraelite.wordpress.com/2016/05/23/eschatology-amillennialism-and-replacement-theology-rejected-in-the-conversion-of-the-ethnic-jews/

“Basically, I believe this unqualified support for the modern state of Israel”

I never said anything in support, unqualified or otherwise, of the current Government of Israel. As has been demonstrated by Chamish and others Israel’s Government is controlled by a Labor Zionist element that hates the religious Jews.

Leave a Reply

